8


FEBRUARY, 2018

News

Quidditch Canada to Transition to Split-Board Governance Model

Quidditch Canada is celebrating nearly four seasons of programming, events, and leadership with a new shift in our organizational structure and governance model.

As of our upcoming Annual General Meeting, Quidditch Canada will transition to a split-board model, wherein the current directors will transition to ‘Department Manager’ roles, and our Board of Directors will consist of individuals elected by Quidditch Canada’s registered teams.

This change is the result of ten intensive months of governance planning and consultation. We would like to take this opportunity to thank former Volunteer Director Nina Patti, and Quidditch Canada former member and volunteer Laura Lepine for their ongoing support in helping us make this shift.

“This is an important step for Quidditch Canada to fall in line with the organizational structure of most Canadian National Sports Organizations, and meet industry standards in this regard. It also provides another measure of added transparency and accountability for the current Managers and future Directors of the organization,” says Communications Director Yara Kodershah.

Our Annual General Meeting will be livestreamed on our YouTube channel on February 25, 2018 at 5pm Pacific/6pm Mountain/8pm Eastern.

Apply to serve on the Board of Directors for Quidditch Canada here.
Read the role description for Directors of the board here.
Read Quidditch Canada’s bylaws here.